Learn the Reverse Pendulum Backspin serve. It has helped me a lot!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2014
Read 7 reviews
Here's a video showing you the basic serve motion
(
)

I decided to learn this serve once I saw Timo Boll getting direct service points against Zhang Jike in the 2014 World Cup using this serve. I started learning it the hard way (more on that later) but once I finally managed to learn this serve, it has become a very useful weapon. I can now get 2-5 direct service points per match or set up for an attack against equal or slightly better players.

Though I lost quite easily against a Bizirksklasse 1 player (around 3-4 leagues higher than me), I was amazed the serve worked well enough against him to earn 3 direct points and around 4 high balls.

Why it is effective:

At least where I play, I haven't seen a lot of players doing plain reverse-pendulum backspin serve. Mostly sidespin or side-underspin.

Using the reverse pendulum motion, I am able to do three serves: side-topspin (ca. 30% topspin, 70% sidespin), sidespin (80% sidespin and 20% backspin) and pure backspin (100% backspin). The second and third serves get mixed up a lot as the service motions are very similar and I use the first one as a variation to earn myself a high ball.

Tips on how to use it

Serve 1: side-topspin

Serve 2: sidespin

Serve 3: pure backspin

Serve 2 is my normal serve when I'm serving reverse pendulum. If all goes well, I should be able to start attacking with my forehand. I normally place this serve into the **short and wide forehand side** as players really have to reach for this serve.

Then I might switch to Serve 3 with the same placement. After watching the video below I understood that players have much more trouble accurately pushing back serves from the wide and short forehand side as they have less feeling for the ball from there. It's easier to backhand push a serve from the middle.

(
)