high and low throw rubbers

says Visited my own profile, woop woop. ;)
Nov 2014
Read 6 reviews
I'm no expert at this, but thinking about it logically, it's not so hard to understand the basic stuff. There are of course other aspects to take into consideration, but thinking solely about the throw.
I would believe high throws might be slightly easier for aim further away from the table, meanwhile lower throw can be more deadly close to the table.
Though although some rubbers have high throws and some low throws, the arc can vary a lot (this is ofcourse also affected by the blade) but some can be a easier up and quick drop, type. While some tend tohave a long arc without much of a quick drop at the end. Diferent types of strokes can adjust this to a long extent, but, some come more naturally in their arc than others, while the same stroke is used.
I think tbh these are things that have to be felt, and not explained. Though in the international level, looking at the most used rubbers (like, Tenergy 05, 64 and Hurricane 3 Neo) They have throw angles at around 6-8 / 10. (well, on ttdb, no rubber has a throw angle above 8, so maybe /8?)
It's a matter of getting used to, but I guess I would go with something similar? I guess higher is slightly more preferable because it gives a more smooth and controllable arc. With a lower throw angle you'd have to give more effort getting the ball to loop nicely over the net.

Not the best at explaining, but I hope it helped some. xD

Last edited:
Reactions: Dan
says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
Kaizoku, I think your explanation is excellent.

High throw is easier to get over the net especially against backspin or far back. Low throw is harder to get over the net, but the lower attacks seem to be more lethal.

I believe Wang Liqin, in his heyday, was using low throw rubbers to go with his killer attacking style.

Reactions: Kaizoku
This user has no status.
This user has no status.