Long pimples with sponge

This user has no status.
Hello,
I've been playing with long pips for more than six years (basically since I started) and I always had OX.Currently I'm using Donic Akkadi L2 and before I used Friendship RITC 755.I've tried a few others but Akkadi suits me best.Today a teammate,whose level is quite higher than mine, suggested that I switch to pimples with a thin sponge and said it could really improve my game.Unfortunately we didn't have time to disscus it further.
So my question is: What are the effects,both positive and negative, of a sponge on long pips?And in general,which do you think is better pimples OX or with sponge?

This user has no status.
I asked my coach the same question a few weeks ago. He said that if the sponge is thicker, it will absorb more energy of the ball so the pips will become slower. He also said that pips with thicker sponge are easier to play with, but also easier to play against, because they aren't so deceptive. So, the OX should be the hardest to play with and against version.

Reactions: BeGo
This user has no status.
Well,I try to focus on a long distance play(chopping) but I can also play close to the table with pushes and blocks.It's effective against players who are the same level as me,but better players have little problem with it.And the teammate said that sponge could really improve my pushes close to the table and maybe chops from mid distance as well.So if it's slower it could be useful when close to the table.

This user has no status.