This user has no status.
I have been working with a coach here and there (not a professional coach, but a guy who reached 2100 and works directly with Samson Dubina on many occasions) and have been making great improvements in my serves, receives, and third ball attacks. My coach's serves still give me trouble, but I haven't had issues aggressively returning the serves of anyone within 300 points of my rating (1170). Attacking underspin is something I'm seeing >85% success with as well, so my 3rd ball game is progressing nicely. My biggest problem at the moment is playing against anyone 1200+ that consistently can counter my 3rd ball attacks. I used to drop back and lob against an attacking opponent, which was fine until I started playing against consistent attackers. Now, I'm trying to stay more at the table or 2-4 feet back and block/counterattack. I do OK with blocking but am having issues making my blocks more dangerous. So the question - should I work more on blocking to improve consistency, or do I risk taking a step backward and try to counterattack? Any hints for working toward either goal are appreciated as well. Thanks!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2015
Read 13 reviews