Thoughts on Playstyle?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2016
AAEAAQAAAAAAAATLAAAAJGI3NjU4ZjU4LWI5YWItNDZhMS05NWE1LTczNjlmZjI3MThiYQ.jpg

That's kind of how I play... and I LOVE IT! I've been told that I'm a flashy player.

I play super aggressively. As of right now, I'd be a power looper.

I know firsthand the detriments of this kind of play style. I would look back on the games I've play and see a 2 giant themes.

1. The opponent didn't get to attack
2. I always "killed myself"

I started playing this way because I hated being attacked. I didn't how to block well, but seeing the Chinese just attack and counter attack made me want to do the same.

The first thing I learned how to loop underspin. (To this day, this is my best shot.) Why didn't I learn to loop topspin first? The players around me at the time were just older people who served underspin, pushed half long, and smashed, so the most common spin I'd see was underspin.
Then I learned how to loop kinds of serves. Here, I learned how to see the difference between half long and short balls.

After I started playing with loopers, I learned how to serve short underspin and push short. I realized when I started out that giving short balls gave you a much better chance attacking first. I practiced for hours, day after day, serving short underspin. I was still pretty bad at ping pong then. No one wanted to play with me, so I had a lot of time to familiarize myself with service. I pretty much got myself an "unattackable serve", at least for players at the level.

Against the loopers, I would lose the point almost every time my opponent attacked. Instead of learning how to deal with this situation, I sought to prevent it from happening all together.

I started learning how to third ball attack. I took every chance I got to attack. I would internally yell at myself for pushing a ball that I could have attacked.