Hurricane 3 Neos Provincial

Hi everyone,

I was wondering what was the difference between Provincial and Commercial? Also what is the difference between Hurricane 3 and 2?

Neo Provincial

dhs-neo-hurricane-3-provincial-orange-sponge.jpg

Neo Commercial

dhs-neo-hurricane-3.jpg

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2011
Some say the provincial version is softer? i dunno. Dont know a lot about rubbers.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2010
I play with provincial and to my knowledge the only difference between commercial and Provincial is what Stian stated. Also, the provincial version is I think 37-39 degree and the commercial is 40-41 generally. I like the softer feel and I generally think soft sponges are much easier to control. I have been playing with Neo III for about 6 months and I love it. Also, I tune my rubber with butterfly Speed Optimizer (Which is really hard to find these days) or Paraffin oil for maximum effect. Hope this helps

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
What was said above is the basic details but perhaps more explanation is worth while.

Nittaku makes tons of 3 star balls. The ones that do not pass inspection are sold as Nittaku "Top Balls". They are practice balls. Nobody will confuse the Top Balls for the 3 stars because they are not quite up to snuff. So the ones that just get sold as Hurricane without a listing of something like Provincial or National are not as good even though you cannot 100% put your finger on why. The reason for that is, it is always something different. With the state of quality control on products produced in China, this can be a hit or miss proposition. Every so often you get a rubber that has dead spots in it, or the sponge in one spot is harder, or part of the topsheet is not as tacky. Sometimes you get a pretty good rubber, and you cannot figure out why it did not pass inspection.

Last edited: