Advice needed for a new racket setup

This user has no status.
Hey Everyone!!

I have been playing TT on and off for the last 20 yrs; in the past few months I have joined a club and now play more regularly. My Current Setup is:

FH - Yasaka Rakza 9 2.1mm
BH - Yasaka Rakza 7 soft 2.1mm
Blade - Donic Ovtcharov Carbonspeed

I am 38 years olds and my playing style is offensive; however given the age i am not that agile around the around so I try to close the points as soon as possible. I have a good forehand and backhand topspin.

I am looking for more spin and a faster setup. I am thinking of going for :

FH - Stiga Calibra LT Plus
BH - Andro Rasant Grip
Blade - Stiga Carbonado 45

I would appreciate feedback on the same and/or recommendations for alternative setup

Thanks

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
When you want more spin and speed with shorter strokes. and you loop on both sides, there is only one answer - Tenergy 05.

Of course, it is not a cheap answer - so people do the Evolutions, Bluefires, Rasants etc.

What you have chosen is good - a bit too long trajectory and low throw for me but good. Have fun with it.

Reactions: UpSideDownCarl
says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
I agree Tenergy is a bit heavy on the pocket. The reviews which I have seen have placed the Stiga Calibra to be faster than the rubbers you have mentioned.

Calibra = Fast

Calibra = LOW THROW, very low throw, like lower than granny's lowest dresses

Calibra also = not so much spin

Calibra works best for if you are Long Distance and going between lobbing and counterlooping far from the table. If that is your game, that is your rubber. Otherwise, be prepared to need a forklift for looping backspin. Calibra topsheet grabs slightly better than antispin. Once you are really using the sponge you can get good spin. But not from brushing with mostly topsheet.