recommendations on new equipment

This user has no status.
Hi there folks,

i started playing TT about 9 months ago. I play 3 to 4 times per week with each session about 3 hrs long. My current equipment is:

Stiga Clipper (an old one from 1992)
Tibhar MX-S Max on FH & BH

I switched to my current setup about 3 months ago and was really able to improve my game with it, however im starting to see some major downside for my playing style.
Im playing full offense, meaning im looping everything thats going over the table.

What i dont like:
- anatomic handle (prefer flared)
- setup is very heavy and unbalanced (topheavy) / blade weights about 100g
- high throw angle causes me to miss Bh blocks more often than id like
- its too slow
- high throw angle is no longer needed to consistently place my topsins

Especially the last to points are whats making me wannt to change sth in my gear. Im at that point where i can pretty much place my topsin where i want it on the table, but no matter what i do the ball doesnt come out as fast and hard (in terms of trajectory) as i want it.

My current idea is to go for sth like:

Fang Bo B2
FH DHS Hurricane III (or similar)
BH undecided

Having a faster and lighter blade should improve some of the negative points i mentioned earlier.

On my FH i´d like to use a chinese rubber since i feel i can get a lot more spin and speed from them with my technique (im using my whole body to topspin and the eu rubbers negate pretty much all the power i put in my shot due to the tensor)

As far as my Bh is concerned im pretty much undecided what to get. I only use my Bh fro blocking, pushing and flicking. id probably like to get sth similar to MX-S with less thow angle though.

Any feedback on wether my train of thought is reasonable or equipment advices are appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2016
Hi there folks,