Does Ma Long have an old school style?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
I'm not an expert but could you say he has a more old school style than Zhang Jike or Fan?

He can of course attack with his backhand but his returns are pushed more often than the the other two. His backhand is often blocked or moderately spun and generally he prefers the FH.

Almost more like waldner in that regard albeit of course with more power.

Am I off base here?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
It all depends on how you define old school, but it seems that yes, Ma Long is more forehand dominant in his overall play than ZJK or FZD, and is also more likely to push more balls back than FZD (ZJK not so much), but is diverse enough to play almost any style.

says The sticky bit is stuck.
says The sticky bit is stuck.
Jan 2017
Read 8 reviews
I'm not an expert but could you say he has a more old school style than Zhang Jike or Fan?

He can of course attack with his backhand but his returns are pushed more often than the the other two. His backhand is often blocked or moderately spun and generally he prefers the FH.

Almost more like waldner in that regard albeit of course with more power.

Am I off base here?

Ma Long seems to be able to do pretty much anything to anything (be it animal, vegetable or mineral), but also seems to choose to apply some wisdom in choosing what to do when. Perhaps the all-out attack isn't the end-all, be-all solution to all things pong for him.

Sometimes he chooses to be the first aggressor, BH and FH; sometimes he seems to hold back and wait for the opponent's initiative, to take over the attack and feed off it. He's a versatile, tactical player, showing ever more smarts as time progresses. In that, he's like Waldner (and Samsonov, and so on) of course, but I don't think that's old skool in and by itself.

Last edited:
says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010