Penhold Setup Question

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
Greetings guys.

I just wanted some feedback regarding my planned new setup.

I am a Penholder who still has many things to learn, and rallying is one of them. I usually get my points off third ball attacks and my service (since I am still an amateur I guess) and I only recently learned how to receive with an RPB flick (which I thought was impossible, but I'm glad I did it and it helps me a lot in winning points) but here's the deal.. I rarely get points off rallies, since my forehand loop goes beyond the table more often than not.

Here's my setup btw:
Blade: 729 Bomb (Penhold)
FH: Hurricane 3 Neo
BH: Focus III Snipe

I was thinking, that it's either my form or my blade that's wrong (because probably it's way too fast for me) so I was planning to have a new setup, namely:

Blade: Stiga Allround Classic WRB
FH: Hurricane 2
BH: Focus III Snipe

I am not quite sure about the Forehand rubber. I have read that Hurricane 2 is a bit slower and has more control than the Hurricane 3, and besides, it's cheap. My budget is also a factor since I could probably just spend $70 max. (btw, that setup costs ~$63 in our country)

So uhm, am I good or do you have any recommendations regarding my setup? Any feedback is GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks in advance :)

Reactions: OldschoolPenholder
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2016
I'll help you with a real short answer.

It's not the equipment. It's your skill & experience. Keep practicing until you can simply hit a forehand in more consistently. Consistency on the amateur level is king.

Ugh I really didn't want to get into equipment talk because I stand by what i wrote above but after seeing your choices and after playing almost every cheap Chinese rubber under the sun, my person opinion is that firm Chinese tacky rubbers are bad for amateurs.