Difference in carbon blade on premade Stiga Ignite vs. custom blade

This user has no status.
Hello everybody! So I am a beginner in the table tennis world and have been trying to further educate myself on equipment. I have been playing for about two years, the last year spending a significant amount of time learning how to play properly. I plan on playing in my first tournament this summer. That being said I have played some athletes at the college I go to who are in the TT club and I have won every tournament we have had this year. I feel I have a fair amount of feel in terms of the differences in paddles/rubbers/blades.

Here however is my question:

Right now I have a YinHe Y13 blade with DHS H3 2.0mm on each side. It is stated that it has 5 wood + 2 fiberglass. I love this setup, however I wish it had some more speed. I have as well tried my friend's 5 ply wood blade with H3 and it was much slower as expected. Before buying my YinHe Y13 i had a Stiga Titan ($100) premade paddle that is 5 wood + 2 carbon. I went ahead and put some H3 rubbers on the blade just out of curiosity and found it to be much faster than my Yinhe blade with slightly less control.

I was wondering what you all feel the actual quality of the Stiga blade is considering it is a premade paddle. My friend suggested that if I want a carbon blade to just try something like a Yasaka carbon blade for roughly $50 instead of messing with the Stiga blade.

I know as a beginner I should probably stick to an all wood blade, however I am asking this solely for gaining knowledge. I plan on buying a 7 ply wood blade to use as my primary after I get better with form. I am saying this to prevent from people stating the fact that I am far from experienced enough to start trying to master a carbon blade. I clearly need to stay with wood at this point.

says Shoo...nothing to see here. - zeio
says Shoo...nothing to see here. - zeio
Jan 2018