Penholders! Any advice?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2018
I have recently changed my grip to the reverse penhold backhand. It's a difficult transition but I definitely prefer the grip and enjoy the game more. There are absolutely no penholders in any club near me, so I was wondering if any of you guys got some general advice, tips and so on on any part of the game?
I am also a beginner table tennis player.

Thanks!

Last edited:
says Any body knows when will be the next Asia Pacific...
says Any body knows when will be the next Asia Pacific...
Sep 2016
I played Shake hand and Penhold, I can tell you some about penhold.You can also find a lot video on you tube.
Pls tell me what you want to know about Penhold. There are two styles , old and new style, new one is using back hand like shakehand attack. I have been told by Chinese coach, we should decide to use one, it is not easy to use both old style and new style during the game. Normally, Penhold forehand is the main weapon, footwork is important. Back hand blocking is fast and can put back spin one it. I enjoy playing both style but I play much better with Penhold. I like to discuss with you anytime.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2018
Welcome to the forum and to penhold Tian! And I think it is great that you are trying to get out of the blocks with a focus on RPB. I play traditional backhand but I do believe that RPB is the way to go. It opens up options that are just not there with the old way. James is right that forehand is the main weapon and you will need to work on fast footwork because you will want to use that forehand whenever possible.

Your serves can be a very potent weapon with penhold because of the range of wrist movement you get.