Help with picking first bat

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Nov 2011
hey everyone, im new round here, so please go easy on me! ;)

Firstly, bit about me. I played a lot of table tennis when younger, both for my school/college and with a local club too and i thoroughly enjoyed it. At the time, i was fortunate enough to have the chap who ran the club make me a bat, not sure what blade it had, but it definately had tackiness chop and tackiness drive rubbers, and i loved it. I have not played though for at least the last 10 years or so.

Recently, after joining a gym, i have started playing once a week or so with a friend, using the hired bats, which are frankly rubbish. In addition, my work are running a charity table tennis event for the local offices, so i have signed up to see how it goes! For this though i would like to purchase a new bat. This is where i am hoping some of you knowledgable people will help me. As i have no experience of making my own bat, i am wondering if someone could help point out a bat or two with similar qualities to the tackiness chop/drive rubbers, with a slightly heavier blade. Money isnt a major issue, but i wouldnt want to spend a small fortune on something that may or may not be taken further.

Any advice would be fantastic!

Regards

says hAHAHAHA THANX MATE :D
Mar 2011
Hi Zoglug, warm welcome. Better late than never I suppose. hehe

Well, years ago, back in the late 80's, I used to play with tackiness chop. Excellent rubber I might say. They now have Chop II. My advice since you've stop serious playing for a bit now, the sensible thing for you to do is to find the set up that you're familiar with...at least until you get your groove back.