Cornilleau Hinotech Off-, Epox Offensive or Persson Powerplay V2?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2011
Hi,

currently Im playing my Applegren Allplay Senso V2 again. I had a burn all+ for two month till the head fell off, and I had to switch back.
As rubbers I play Donic F2 2.0 on my FH and Donic F3 BS 2.0 on my backhand.

I like the feel of my setup. The F3 is great for blocking, and the F2 gives me a bit more power on my smashes.

Although I have this very controlled setup Im still too prone to errors, although ive been playing for some 10 years, with a 2 year break in between.

Im good at everything I know. :) I serve well, and good at the first shot after the return. After that its all very instable and I loop a lot over the table or into the net.

Apart from an obvious lack of training (I play 2-3 times a week), I think this is also because I have to put too much power in my arm movement to land a powerful shot.
Hence I think it might be good to try a slightly harder/heavier blade. The power of the shot should be similar, but with less movement.

So my first question is: Does this make sense? Ive played with more offensive blades in training sessions, and like it. but my opponents were usually not as good as me, and I havent tried it against someone who is better than me.

What I like about my Applegren is a.) its light. 95 Grams is just too heavy for three matches. :) b.) It has great control, but if you put some punch in you still get some punch out.

Therefore Id be looking for a slightly heavier blade (85gs) which has more power by itself, but still gives you the ability to deliver a short stop behind the net.

Ive narrowed it down to the following blades:
Cornilleau Hinotec Off-
Donic Epox Offensive
Donic Persson Powerplay V2
Yasaka Gatien Extra

Looking at the stats, and that I want a bit more punch, with a similar feel, I should probably go for the Gatien or the Powerplay.
But the others sound good too.