hook serve

This user has no status.
Im a beginner cpen player. I find best way to serve heavy pure underspin serve is to brush the ball with a horizonal flat open blade. If u add body/hip rotation it imparts even heavier underspin even though the movement is arced horizontally across the ball.

Best effect if u contact ball as close the table surface with a smooth even constant arc with no pause or stops until the ball leaves the bat and bounces once on your side.

says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews
Ur problem likely lies in your "Whip", timing, and grip pressure.

To get a spinny serve, you stay loose, accelerate the lower arm and a little wrist, and have a very loose grip... all with a bat angle that is pretty much the flat surface of the table +/- the tip of bat angled one way or another. (Mostly tip down some.)

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2016
Ur problem likely lies in your "Whip", timing, and grip pressure.

To get a spinny serve, you stay loose, accelerate the lower arm and a little wrist, and have a very loose grip... all with a bat angle that is pretty much the flat surface of the table +/- the tip of bat angled one way or another. (Mostly tip down some.)

I don't know whether further endorsement is needed but I observed a top English coach working with a young player on how to obtain more spin on his serves and his advice was identical to that in Der Echte's post.

Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews
One can enhance the spin even more with some tweaks down the line, but a player first should master the ball toss, area of impact zone to stick, the timing and use of each component, how to amplify each little movement, and how to control impact.

The other little things can help, but I say get the basics right first.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

says I would recommend all wood. Samsonov Alpha sgs is the...
Nov 2017
Read 8 reviews