Help with new blade

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2011
Hi,

I've been playing table tennis for about 6 months now and I am looking to buy a bat.

I'm not sure what type of player I am yet. My forehand is quite strong and I can play lots of topspin. My backhand is very weak and my shots tend to loop a little.

After reading about the forums I have decided to purchase Sriver rubbers. The FX and L.

I've been given a very old Butterfly Geregly Blade, I think it's one from the 70's or so.

The blade is in excellent condition.

I have a dilemma! Is the old Geregly Blade any good for a beginner or should I buy a Primorac OFF- blade?

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Alan

says hAHAHAHA THANX MATE :D
says hAHAHAHA THANX MATE :D
Mar 2011
Wow!! You have a Gergely? Excellent blade buddy! It goes very well with Sriver, any Sriver in fact. If you can handle it, why would you want to change. No doubt it's a very fast blade, but tame it if you can, and it will be rewarding.

Yes, it's a blade for experts. But if I got for free, I would definitely try to master it. Don't blow your dosh on a new blade. Having a weaker BH is not a reason for you to change your equipment buddy. Practice makes perfect, so I would suggest you do just that. :D

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2011
Thanks for the help!

I'll give the old Gergely a try. With only being a beginner i'm unsure of how to know if the blade is too fast :confused: Hopefully it will be fine!

says backhand - Tenergy 05 black forehand - haifu whale blade...
says backhand - Tenergy 05 black forehand - haifu whale blade...
Nov 2011
Wow!! You have a Gergely? Excellent blade buddy! It goes very well with Sriver, any Sriver in fact. If you can handle it, why would you want to change. No doubt it's a very fast blade, but tame it if you can, and it will be rewarding.