Long pips on ALC

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2018
Hey all,

I have a question about a change i want to make in my tabeltennis play. I currently have a Timo Boll ALC blade with tenergy 05 on my forehand and rozena on my backhand. However ive always wanted to try out pimples. Now i know i should try pimples with a defensive blade however i dont wanna change my winning forehand. So i was wondering if i wanna chop in the third position what kind of pimples would suit me best. Ive never played with pimles so i have no prior experience.
Would love to hear your ideas.

With kind regards,
Martijn

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
I have a TB ALC but I have never considered putting LP on it. The ALC is too fast and is really meant to be use with inverted for play a little from the table.

Any LP will work but since the ALC is fast I would add some sponge to absorb energy. Even 0.4-0.6mm will make a big difference if chopping. The sponge provides extra friction that is useful for chopping and attacking but not so good if you want to play push blocker style and block at the table.

I have a friend that tried LPs. He could never get use to the different strokes and what you need to do under different circumstances. People think it is easy to play with LPs but there is a learning curve.

So,
Get 755 0.6mm or similar like DHS C8 or Pogo 0.6mm, or Dawei 388D 0.6mm
1.0mm will work too but 0.6mm is a good starter. Do not spend a lot of money until you know if you can adapt.

I like to play with junk rubbers. It is fun but everyone tells me I play best with double inverted. This will probably be true in your case.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Nov 2015