How to get kids/youngsters to listen?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2016
Hello! I have been a coach parttime for over 10 years now to kids and younger players. Nowdays, i am a coach two Days a week for Three Groups. The first two, which are the youngest are listening good, but the last one, which is the best/oldest Group are not as good as the first two.

I proably did not listen very good me neither in that age but i say alot of good stuff so if they just listen they would become better players for sure.
I find having meetings Before exercises where i can explain stuff helps, it is harder to get them to listem if i just scream it out. I also Think that they like me so it is not that.

So coaches and players out there! how to get kids to listen more? :)

Thanks!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2016
Keep it short and simple. No lectures. Show don't just say.
Okay, maybe talk to much but i only want them to learn as much as possible and really understand what is happening. Will try to keep it shorter. We already show a lot, they do a lot of shadow play and try to copy us coaches.

Btw, something other. Have trouble using my keyboard typing here. is it just me?

Thanks for the tips. Really appreciate it :)

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2016
I recently attended a three day coaching session, and one thing that struck me was how difficult it was to keep in mind the moves for two drills at a time. The coaches would spend several minutes going over the first drill, and then go over the second. Memory is fickle thing. By the time we came to do the drill, most people had forgotten the first one.