Starting equipment thoughts cpen

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2018
Hello!

I have been playing for roughly a year and a half now and ive now been looking to switch from premade to custom. Im currently a developing penholder with heavy preference for loop and topspin shots. I rarely block and can do RPB relatively comfortably.

A friend in my club gave me his YEO and i bought a focus 3 for my bh and 729-08 ES for my fh. Im aware this setup is generally faster than recommended for beginners, but i got the blade for a steal so I would like to know if its still possible to develop strokes and play well with this setup.

if not, should i consider switching this FH rubber for something more controllable such as 729Higher Transcend/ or Ktl pro xp? How will a soft rubber play on a stiff blade? If i should switch, what rubbers do you recommend for my playstyle? Im relatively new to equipment, but i think i want to play with chinese rubber

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
I have a c-pen yeo too. I would stick with what you have for now. after playing with what you have now you may get a better idea of what you want. Right now you are searching for what you will be comfortable with. We can not know this.

i do have an opinion. I prefer a little thinner rubber on my RPB but I would feel comfortable playing with your paddle.
Play with what you have then decide.

Reactions: Tanstin12
says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews
OP, if your game is good for using a non-tacky OFF control rubber, you are in the middle of the zone for what is needed.

$14 or so for this rubber isn't bad, replace it often, it wont kill you financially. Give away the sheet to another startup player or coach to give away.