Feedback on my FH & BH Loop

This user has no status.
Finally got a mini tripod and filmed myself. It’s enlightening to watch how awkward my footwork and posture are sometimes.

I posted a video of me (the guy in the red shirt) doing a training drill (one push and one loop). I started playing table tennis about two years ago. I guess I’m intermediate level. There is a ton of room for improvement in all areas of my technique. I occasionally train with a coach, but I’m looking for constructive comments about what I need to improve on and what seems to be working well.

Also, I just switched to super bouncy Rhyzer rubber, so my push is still garbage until I get used to it. [emoji12]

https://youtu.be/A0d1tKU58xM

Last edited:
says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews
I will say a few simple things.

Your backswing on FH is going WAY behind you.... You can generate power without that longish backswing, timing will be easier.

If you want more spin on BH vs underspin, drop paddle lower between legs and go up more.

Your bounce well, back into position.

If you want more topspin vs underspin on FH, drop shoulder a little more, get hips lower, push off with leg and swing up more. Maybe coach wants you to hit loopdrives right now. This slow loop will be your friend down the road.

On your pushes, step under table more and take ball off the bounce, this habit will give you hundreds of points later.

This user has no status.
I will say a few simple things.

Your backswing on FH is going WAY behind you.... You can generate power without that longish backswing, timing will be easier.

If you want more spin on BH vs underspin, drop paddle lower between legs and go up more.

Your bounce well, back into position.

If you want more topspin vs underspin on FH, drop shoulder a little more, get hips lower, push off with leg and swing up more. Maybe coach wants you to hit loopdrives right now. This slow loop will be your friend down the road.