typical semi-beginner questions

says Thanks for the suggestion Splasher! I was going to try...
Apr 2019
Hello, I’m new to serious table tennis, I used to play when I was a kid and I’ve always been pretty good. Plus I’m a tennis player.
I recently got into it again at work and just to say how uninformed I was, I didn’t even know there were new scoring rules and a new plastic ball.. but I did a lot of catching up, followed video training and generally tried to get a grasp of what is like to take this sport more seriously.
Anyhow. I play mostly at work with a bunch of more and less keen people, some like me are getting into it more seriously and there’s a desire to progress. I bought myself an already made butterfly racked on Amazon:Zhang Jike ZJX6 as Office bats are rubbish. it’s quite light, relatively fast and sticky, but I never liked the loss of feeling I get from it. My fast shots go long. Now that I learned more and recognised I did a classic mistake (my bat is still not as fast and heavy as some colleagues though. I’m getting used to it but can’t stop thinking it’s not the racket for me.
My style is currently all round (more all over). I like to think I’m naturally an offensive player as I try to move the opponent and close the rally soon with fast shots, but when I do that I make so many mistakes I’m now taking it easier and playing a more cautious game.
I also never liked the feeling of over padded bats. Looking and readying about equipment I’m thinking of getting a safe Stiga all round.i could splash some cash on something more expensive, but I worry I just like the sound of names such as Nittaku acoustic and the idea of making nice sounds when hitting the ball..