Is it true that in a pushing rally, you don't have to try to add more spin?

says beginner (rating 700)
May 2019
I'm a beginner and trying to get ready for a big upcoming tournament. I went to my local table tennis club and got some coaching today.

What sometimes happens during my matches is that I'll get into these unending pushing rallies. As the rally gets longer, I try to generate more backspin in an attempt to end the rally, but frequently that results in me committing the error.

The coach said that after the first few hits in a pushing rally, the ball will have so much spin that there's no need to try to add any more spin. That doesn't seem to make sense though. The rotation of the ball should reverse with every push, right? So when I push, I'm changing the spin.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2019
if the incoming ball has heavy underspin then all you need is to push it lightly and the opponent gets some of the underspin back. **Edit: the returned ball does have topspin, not underspin.

in a pushing game one should vary both the amount of underspin and ball placement. also, watch out for the variability in the spin by your opponent.

Last edited:
Reactions: Takkyu_wa_inochi
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
if the incoming ball has heavy underspin then all you need is to push it lightly and the opponent gets some of the underspin back. **Edit: the returned ball does have topspin, not underspin.

in a pushing game one should vary both the amount of underspin and ball placement. also, watch out for the variability in the spin by your opponent.

No this is incorrect. The push has backspin if you use inverted rubbers, the degree of spin depends on how much of the incoming spin was retained on the push.

says ok, I will go back and make sure you have access. Be...
says ok, I will go back and make sure you have access. Be...
Nov 2010
Read 8 reviews