Considering switch in blades YSE to JRE or XOS

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2019
Hello TTD,

Lately, I was impressed by the responsiveness of this forum on a lot of topics regarding table tennis. I’m considering switching my table tennis blade, and I would like to know your opinions or experiences with any of these blades.

Some background: I’m an offensive topspin orientated intermediate player and I play like 3 times a week (including matches every season) for 9 years now. Since I started playing I’ve used blades like Andro All+, Spirit All+, and one year ago I switched to the Yasaka Goiabao 5. Unfortunately, that Goiabao blade felt like a brick. I couldn’t push heavy backspin or produce a slow controlled heavy spin shot. The pace of this blade was too high for me and I couldn’t control my shots. Last season, I moved to the Yasaka Sweden Extra and I think I became more “technical” and consistent than ever using this blade. It is good, however there are 2 odds about this blade. One, the handle feels kind of light, it doesn’t feel solid. Second, whenever I do my long stroke kill shot (hard offensive topspin), there is not as much spin and power as when I was using other blades and it often gets blocked like there was no spin.

I tested a lot of rubbers before and sticked to Donic desto F1 FH 2.0 and Donic desto F1 BH 1.8

Now I think it would benefit my game to give in a little of that great control of the YSE for some more solid feeling (little more weight) and kill shot power.

So I came up with 3 options:

• Order another YSE and ask for higher weight, for a more solid feeling and harder blade
  • Order the Joola Rosskopf emotion, for some carbon power on killshots, but “wooden” feel on touch shots
  • Order the Xiom offensive S – A closely related Petr Korbel blade, for more solid feel due to more weight and more kill shot through slightly more speed.