If you are a coach. What equipment would you recommend for beginners?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2020
Hi!:)

I am a coach only once a week and I would love to hear from other coaches or players with experience what you would recommend to a beginner.
And I referring to beginners who have played perhaps 1-3 years, in age 7-15 years old. I guess the age really doesn't matter but still...

I have always recommended a regular bat (five stars) from a regular Sporting goods store if they have played for a just few weeks.
But it's the next step I would like to hear from you guys!
The beginner now wants to compete and/or just to be more serious about table tennis and want their own custom racket.

I have asked another coach this question and in their club they recommended the blade Yasaka 2040 with Yasaka Orginal Extra XHG rubbers.
The second step for custom racket when they have gained more skills would still be the blade Yasaka 2040 but with Yasaka Mark V.
(I have myself played with Yasaka Orginal Extra XHG and Yasaka Mark V when I was younger. So I feel this is a pretty safe recommendation in the beginning)
The third step for a custom racket is still Yasaka 2040 blade with Yasaka Rakza 7 Soft rubber or was it Yasaka Rakza X Soft?:confused: hmm....
(In the moment I writing this and look where I buy my things I am not sure if it was Rakza 7 Soft och Rakza X Soft. I think it's Rakza 7 Soft that coach said).

I thinks it's difficult to write with words how good a player should be to be able to use step two and three. But I have a vision in my head and I will know when I see it.
So I hope we have open minds here.:eek: But we can say a beginner can reach step three in 2-3 years or more.