PDA

View Full Version : I am 15 years old, what is the chance of becoming a professional?

davizoosk
04-04-2020, 08:59 PM
I'm feeling very late compared to Tomokazu Harimoto, who is already 16 years old and is at the top of the world ranking, I started practicing tt for now and I dream of becoming a professional, is it still possible? I'm very unmotivated.

I'm feeling very late compared to tomokazu harimoto, who is already 16 years old and is at the top of the world ranking, I started practicing tt for now and I dream of becoming a professional, is it still possible?

Takkyu_wa_inochi
04-04-2020, 09:10 PM
If professional == player playing in ITTF international tournaments on a regular basis NO
If professional == player playing in a small upper national league 99% NO 1% YES
If professional == professional coach in a local club 20% YES

davizoosk
04-04-2020, 09:26 PM
If professional == player playing in ITTF international tournaments on a regular basis NO
If professional == player playing in a small upper national league 99% NO 1% YES
If professional == professional coach in a local club 20% YES

reasons?

zyu81
04-04-2020, 09:36 PM
You left out a lot of key information. What is your level now? Do you have good coaching and training available to you? How much of your life are you able to dedicate to TT, are you just going to college in a few years, or do you have the money and time and resources to try to be a pro?

I am guessing it was a mistake when you said "I am very unmotivated"?

The chances of being world class, are very very very very very small. No matter what age you start. You can get to an elite national level having started late, there are several such examples, but again, the chances of that are still very very very small regardless of what age you started. So it really comes down to if you have talent, and money/time/resources for high level training.

Takkyu_wa_inochi
04-04-2020, 09:40 PM