Full Set-up advice after some considerable research

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2020
Hey everyone, I hope I can get your opinion on buying a setup.

First, I will address my skill level. Unfortunately, I don’t have any videos of myself playing- I would film but as we know, it’s quarantine right now. However, I have played about 2 years. I have taken it seriously since September 2019. I played 6 days a week, and received coaching 2-3 of those days for about 2-2.5 hour sessions. I would say my technique is decent and my fundamentals are solid. A big weakness of mine is that in gameplay, I don’t trust myself, and tend to just start playing passively as opposed to the proper stroke which I had been taught.

I live over on the west coast of the US, and when I started playing, my coach set me up with a fastish 7 ply blade (Samsonov force pro), and some medium tensors. I never cared much for equipment and so I just used it, but I think the set up is too fast and not allowing me to play how I want in anything besides a repetitive drill.

If this is useful info, I am about 20, and athletic so footwork and those things would be available for my playstyle. I am a shake-hand player. I am definitely planning on getting serious over the next decade or so at least. I want to train hard at least 5 days a week, and buy a setup that would hold strong for me as I progress.

I am thinking about avoiding tensor rubbers as I really want to have the control from tacky rubbers.

Right now, here is where my research has led me:
Considerations for purchasing a new set up, (the bolded items seem more suitable for me)
Blade: Tibhar Stratus Power Wood (I would ask for one around 87g, on the lighter side as the dense rubbers seem heavy and I don’t want to have a super head heavy bat), Stiga all-around classic
Forehand: Hurricane 8 mid-hard(2.15 or 2.2?), Sanwei Target National
Backhand: Yasaka Rising Dragon(2.0 or max?), Yasaka Rakza Z (2.0)