Suggestion for new setup - returned to TT after a long gap

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2020
I have come back to TT after a long gap (about 13-15 years). Prior to that I was playing regularly for about 7-8 years in a club. I was playing competitively and had regular coaching and was doing quite well. My game is attacking (looping and smashes on FH, wrist flicks and smashes on BH with chops in between) from about a foot from the table. Also my strength is my service variations with a lot of spin. I used to play with a Jonyer back in the day with the old poly ball and 21 point games.

Now when I started again I went for a safe option - Butterfly Primorac with Rakza 7 on FH and 7 soft on BH. It’s a good spinny setup and I was fine with it till I started playing matches at the club that I have recently joined. All the players I played against (around same level as me) had faster setups (Viscaria and TBALC with Tenergies, etc). When I played against them I found the pace of my shots no match and as a result could not finish a lot of points which I would normally do against players with setups similar to mine. Every time I smashed the ball, if it was not placed where the opponent couldn’t get to it, it came back faster. Also had a tough time returning serves against some of the spinnier rubbers.

I am 42 and my footwork and reflexes are not what they used to be when I was playing regularly. So my question is - I am looking for a faster setup. Below are the few options that I have come up with after watching people and online research -
1. Joola Rossi Emotion with Rhyzm P on both sides
2. JRE with Nittaku Fastarc G1 on FH and S1 on BH (S1 being added advantage to minimize spin for receiving)
3. Any inner carbon blade (Inner Layer ALC) with Rozena (I think Tenergy would be too much for me) or the Nittaku rubbers mentioned above.