Tacky Chinese Rubber on the Backhand?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2019
I've been exclusively using cheap, tacky Chinese rubbers on the forehand because I'm a poor student who doesn't want to blow $50++ on a rubber every 3 months. Today at a practise session I flipped my racket just for fun to play pips on the forehand and inverted on the backhand. Surprisingly I've still got the feel for it even after 2 years out of practise with this style.

Anyway I'm asking if there's anyone out there who uses tacky Chinese rubber on the backhand, because I've heard that everyone uses smooth Japanese or European rubbers on the backhand exclusively. Is there any reason why? If it helps, I play a pretty wristy backhand, preferring to brush the ball a little over hitting it outright.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2018
I've been exclusively using cheap, tacky Chinese rubbers on the forehand because I'm a poor student who doesn't want to blow $50++ on a rubber every 3 months. Today at a practise session I flipped my racket just for fun to play pips on the forehand and inverted on the backhand. Surprisingly I've still got the feel for it even after 2 years out of practise with this style.

Anyway I'm asking if there's anyone out there who uses tacky Chinese rubber on the backhand, because I've heard that everyone uses smooth Japanese or European rubbers on the backhand exclusively. Is there any reason why? If it helps, I play a pretty wristy backhand, preferring to brush the ball a little over hitting it outright.

Cheap Chinese rubbers on BH are fine if they are not rock hard and you boost them a lot. H3 37 deg or mercury 2 medium work well but you will need to drive the ball more than with Euro rubbers. Good luck!

says Shoo...nothing to see here. - zeio
says Shoo...nothing to see here. - zeio
Jan 2018