Long pip rubber for my backhand

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2020
Hi everyone, I wanted to ask for some advice from you guys as to what long pimple rubber I should change my backhand to. My current backhand rubber (friendship 837) doesn't suit the type of lp player I want to become and it has also lost a lot of its pips.

I've been playing friendship 837 with 1mm sponge for 2 years now (on and off) and it has been my first long pimple experience. I find that it doesn't fit my current play style of my backhand.

I am a very aggressive forehand player and I always try to focus on my attack with my forehand. My backhand has developed into more placing balls smartly and blocking attacks from the opposition. I never chop with my backhand but I am not very aggressive (mainly just counterattack and blocking). Here are some points for reference.

- I never chop with my backhand long pimples.
- I play more blocking and deflecting the ball, but I also try to attack and counterattack but my rubber isn't that good for counter attacking.
- I'm looking for good control so I can smartly and accurately counterattack (less power and more placement) and also be able to easily place the ball in awkward positions when they serve and push (more control with good spin effect)
- I don't have that much of a budget, so I'd prefer under 20AUD (15-17~USD)

I also have a few other questions regarding long pimples. Should I be using ox for my blocking, semi-aggressive game? It seems to fit what my play style is, but many people also say sponge is good for my play style. ( I want more control for my counterattacks and more effective blocks and tricky ball placements). Also, should I take into consideration my blade? It is very light, so does that mean I need to compensate with my backhand with sponge/no sponge? Keep in mind that I have been playing long pimples for quite some time, so I don't really want an 'easy to learn but not effective competitively' rubber.