advice please on moving from tenergy

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2017
I have been trying out various versions of tenergy by buying used rubbers online. I have realised I am getting the disadvantages (bouncy and difficult to control) but they are not as spinney as new tenergys. These are rubbers for top pro players and I am a mid level club player. I struggle when receiving nasty serves and need more control.
I have been playing for 5 years and improving though my age (65) will stop me getting above club level. I have a strong backhand and like flicking and looping near the table. I move reasonable well and will loop forehands close and at mid distance though I need to send several shots to win a point and am not as powerful as some attackers. I never chop and try to build up the point using topspin. Serving is a bit of a passion and I use f/h and b/h.
Which rubbers do you think I should buy for my DHS hurricane 301?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
May 2013
Read 2 reviews
@Silver Smasher - changing one grippy rubber to another is unlikely to help you with receive of "nasty" serves. And long pips aren't a solution either, just a crutch, especially when the problem sounds like inability to read the spin. The only way out of this is to improve your ability to read spin and return serves. Attending one of Craig Bryant's training camps near your area might be a good idea.

If you genuinely want slower equipment with more control, get yourself a pair of DHS H3 Neos. There is no need for anything faster for a club-level player like yourself. You'll still be able to loop with oodles of spin, etc but the bounciness will be gone for sure.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2019
Read 2 reviews