Tennis vs Table Tennis

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2012
Hi everyone. This is my first post here. I am an amateur tt player and I've recently started following the tt tournaments and learning about the players. However, I've been following (lawn) tennis (you know, the one Federer and Nadal play) for years. I've been wondering if you guys can help me learn more about the greatest tt players by finding some associations or analogies between them and the great tennis players.

For instance from what I've seen of Wang Liqin, I feel tempted to draw an analogy with Sampras, because of their legendary, dominating forehands and simple but effective game plans, whereas as Ma Lin is a player who seems to possess the same spirit as Andre Agassi: creativity, unmatched variety of shots that can be used to strategically adjust the game plan in the middle of match and deep commitment to physical fitness. And chubbiness :)

Do you have any other analogies between tt players and tennis players? Who in the tennis world would you compare with J-O Waldner?

Reactions: Dan
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2012
Well there's Timo Boll who is kinda like Federer. Calm, simple but effective play and not getting involved that much in rallies but still winning :)

M51

says Poly balls still suck.

M51

says Poly balls still suck.
Sep 2012
Who in the tennis world would you compare with J-O Waldner?
Federer. Superb allround player with unmatched stroke precision and both offensive and defensive capabilities, not to mention keeping cool under pressure.

BTW, which of the TT players has the worst temper? I guess that guy (whoever he may be) could be compared to either John "Superbrat" McEnroe, or Goran Ivanišević. :)

says In my opinion, hurricane 3 is good. 2 points: "eat the...
says In my opinion, hurricane 3 is good. 2 points: "eat the...
Aug 2012
Hi guy, I'm also table tennis & tennis fans, like you.