Galaxy MC-2 for a beginner?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2012
Thinking of buying this as part of my first ever custom setup. I am not a complete beginner more an advanced beginer (if there is such a thing) -I played for several years as a kid and have picked tt up again recently.

I was thinking of pairing it with Focus III snipe on both sides.

There is limited information on the MC-2 on the net, does anyone know how fast it is?
Is it too fast for a someone still developing the fundamentals?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2012
Why don't you just get one of the mainstream allround blades and rubbers? Get like a STIGA Allround NCT or something a bit faster and some rubbers that will suit your technique, something like Yasaka Mark V or Butterfly Sriver on both sides, just to develop your skills. They are decently priced, and an allround blade with some good control rubbers might add up to around $140? Pretty decent price :D

When choosing a blade, rubber or any equipment in general, make sure you ask the people around your table tennis club or community, and they can give you some suggestions :)

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2012
MC2 is fairly hard and stiff. Don't want hard blade with soft rubber like Focus IIIS, not a good match when you're trying to re-discover your touch. Galaxy has a bunch of softer all-wood blades which would be a better fit. For an overview:
http://mytt.net/Forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=43525&PID=543157&title=updated-galaxy-blades-table'

A guess; are you shopping from TTNPP? Their blade selection from Chinese makes is pretty limited.

Btw if you don't want to wait too long to get your stuff: From Dandoy-sports for around 52€, you can get 2x Focus IIIS with a Donic Waldner Senso V1 (ALL+ speed). The shipping will take 3-4 working days to the UK, not 2-3 weeks like if you order from East Asia.