Is hurricane 3 neo still playable without tuning?

This user has no status.
It's quite weird that you asked this question.
I'm also itching for the same answer. My DHS H3 Neo will arrive tomorrow. I'll play untuned and see if it's ok.
I have never used a chinese rubber before. All my rubbers are jap/euro tensors. I think they are too fast for me, like trying to ride a rebellious stallion.
H3 Neo might be my savior or my downfall, tomorrow will tell :D

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2012
Read 1 reviews
Chinese rubbers with extreme tackiness like the hurricane were invented to be boosted. The first version (around 2000 I think) was made especially for speed gluing.
They are extremely spinny but hold the ball just too much and dont throw it back out with efficient speed (this means you have to strike really hard, to get a worthy loop equivalent of a tensor rubber). Imagine now the amount of effort you must make if you want to be consistent and try to execute 3 or 4 FH loops in a row with good spin and speed. It is very tiresome...

If you boost them though, the sponge and topsheet expand and stretch making the rubber more "dynamic", thus producing more speed.

Give it a try without boosting, then boost them and you will see a significant difference.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
This user has been banned.
Aug 2012
it is playable without boosting.
the problem is since it's not bouncy it can give you problems in some shots, more than anything in passive shots.
you may think "oh but I'm a two winged looper".
but in matches players generally do a lot of blocking and just passing the ball.
and it's harder to do that with a chinese rubber.
that's all.

Last edited:
says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews