Penhold Technique

Zya

This user has no status.
Hello at all,

Before i post my question here the short story.
I'm a new basic/youth trainer from germany and the leader of a youth training group. Since one week i got 2 new players and both of them use the penhold grip since they started playing table tennis. I don't want to have to change there grip because i can't develop there play.

amultart.jpg

Photo from HERE

My knowledge about penhold techniques are very basic so i hope the TTD community can help me to get deep and links to technique videos, descriptions or image sequences.

Thanks for your help

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2011
Re: OP

This pretty much explains it all. Try to make them have CPen paddles, as JPen loses out at competitive levels.

Since you're a shakehander, you'll have no problem teaching their backhands either if you teach them RPB. You'll have to use Pen for yourself quite a bit to know how to adjust their grip so that they can execute the RPB stroke (fingers can NOT be spread out, grip is middle finger and thumb oriented. You'll know what I mean once you try it yourself.)

As for the traditional penhold backhand kill...look into players such as Ryu Seung Min, Lee Jung Woo, Yoshida Kaii and see how they execute their backhand strokes.

If they're RPB oriented though, you'll want them to look into Ma Lin or Xu Xin, since they can do both traditional and reversed backhand. Wang Hao's RPB grip actually deforms the middle finger if used extensively, so I don't recommend that.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2010
Pingskills has good instructional videos but their penhold ones are not that good at all. The instructor doesn't even know hold to grip a penhold blade properly!
I still enjoy the classic ones by Guo Yuehua and Cao Yanhua (CPen), and Kim Taek Soo and Ryu Seung Min (JPen).

Reactions: PingPonger
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Nov 2010