attacking style have a steeper learning curve than defending style?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2013
I have been training hard using penhold reverse backhand for 5 months now. I used to play traditional per hold style 20 years ago at age of 10. After such a long break, I started everything from beginning. My style is loop, loop attack from forehand and back hand. In training, I feel confident and my coach said I played well. However, when it comes to matches, I always lose to player in 50s, 60s who does nothing but chop and push, or players with long pimple who only block. It is very frustrating as I don't feel they have better tecknique than me. In stead, they win by my mistake. My question is, am I on he right track of training? How can I beat these defensive players?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2013
from my limited experience , game against defensive players require patience and control, even though your style is offensive , do not initiate attack , take a few points lead . try push game, I try not to loop , since most returns are dead ball, better to drive flat , and build up the rally and finally setup your finish .
be patient and dont rush the shots ,slow down the tempo, applying our training ,in match conditions is in itself a separate training perspective .
Thanks,
S

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2013
Thanks for the advice. I think you are right I lack of patience, especially when my opponent push long ball to my forehand. I tend to hit hard and miss too much. I also have a problem against very high chopped balls with back spin. When I loop this kind of ball it is always too far. When it drive it goes to the net.

says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews