help with rubbers for beginer.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2013
Hi

I am an advanced level beginner. I am currently practicing FH/BH counter attack and loop against robot and other players. I am using Stiga maple wood 5, Tenergy 64 on FH, Tenergy 05 on BF. My question is, is my racket an overkill for a beginner? I found it is hard to control in my practice with other players. The ball is always very fast and spiny and my practice partner can't get it back. If I intentionally hit the ball light, my stoke get affected.

Do I need to change racket, and if so, what rubber is best for practice basic strokes?

Many thanks

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Nov 2013
Its mostly likely you and your practice partner, rather than the rubbers or paddle.

I equipment seems pretty good to me, I would just focus a lot more on the basics.
If your partner can't return your counter attacks and loops, then practice forehand to forehand and backhand to backhand hitting with him. Then after a few session of training the fundamentals, he should be able to do a better job of returning your shots.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2013
Read 3 reviews
Tenergy is an over kill, over priced equipment for a beginner.
If your level isn't there, you are not using "all the features" of the "expensive" tensor rubbers. This is the main reason why I say it is "over"
But it is not a no-no, as Burns said, it may be a human error and not equipment.

However, if you serious to improve:
1) Get a coach
2) Ask coach about your equipment
3) big chance your coach will say - go for slower rubbers = more control (less capacult effect) and an allround blade.

Normally with fast tensor rubbers, it is difficult for beginner level players to feel the ball. As the ball will bounce off very fast.
That means you are not hitting the ball, the equipment is doing all the work. And from this, it can lead to maybe bad habbits.