Tsp heavy weight bat

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2012
Read 1 reviews
Has anyone tried this? Can I stick rubbers on it or no?

http://www.tabletennisworld.com.au/heavy-weight-training-p-63.html

I ve found it much cheaper in a local TT store in my city. When I was a kid my coach used to gimme a bat with 1 rubber in one side and on the other a mass of iron or some kind of metal, making the whole paddle weight above 400 gr. It was fantastic to practice loops with it cause it made you realize all the muscles involved when looping, especially when lifting underspin.

If I cant put rubbers on this TSP bat Im thinking on doing the same thing my coach did to me. Any ideas on how to glue with really strong bond a metal plate onto a wooden blade? :p

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2012
Read 1 reviews
If you add metal instead of rubber on one side then the raquet will be over front weight resulting in triggering wrong muscle memory . So you should add weight porportionately. Just thoughts though, haven't tried neither of the ways. Probably some lead under handle?

Yes these are exactly my thoughts. If I do it I will put a small metal plate which has uniform weight like a rubber does.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2013
I wouldnt suggest any metal plate sticking on a bat.. it is a bit dangerous if you exert explosive movement and that metal thing accidentally detaches from the bat then you know whats next..

I would suggest add a training session where you use rubber resistance attached to a pole and do diffrent strokes, by doing this everyday for one hour both arms im sure arm muscles will be firmer and stronger.
The other training that we do is use dumbels 4 or 5 lbs practice diffrent strokes on the table fh bh etc with matching footwork..

Never attach pcs of metal onto the blade.. blades are design just to withstand the weight of the head with 2pairs of rubber