Table Tennis in America

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2014
I'm a student in China right now, but I plan on going to America for college. I know a bit about the NCTTA, the collegiate table tennis tourney, but I was wondering more about other tournaments for TT in the US. Things like the US open, NA qualifiers, olympic qualifiers, etc. For example, what I have to do to qualify, how do I become affiliated with a club?

Any help would be appreciated thanks :D

says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews
I'm a student in China right now, but I plan on going to America for college. I know a bit about the NCTTA, the collegiate table tennis tourney, but I was wondering more about other tournaments for TT in the US. Things like the US open, Simply sign up and show up. You will not advance past RR Group stage unless you already have a USA rating, so try to do a tourney a month or two ahead of time first. NA qualifiers, just sign up and show up, but it sure costs money to get there and play (hotel, flight, food, etc) olympic qualifiers, You will need to be US citizen Olympic eligible, so likely wont work out for you. etc. For example, what I have to do to qualify, how do I become affiliated with a club?

Any help would be appreciated thanks :D

If the college you are attending is part of NCTTA (http://www.nctta.org/) then you got a chance at some fun comps.

To do any sanctioned USATT tourney, you simply sign up, show up and play. Of course, there are expenses and the first tourney you do, you cannot advance past group stage. After your first tourney is processed and you get a numerical rating (higher is better) you can then sign up for events in sanctioned tourneys and advance from group stage if you placed first. (sometimes second advances) You are eligible for events that are higher than your rating. If your rating is 1800, then you can play Under 2000, Under 2200 for example, but cannot play Under 1600 event.