How to push long and hard?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2014
In my opinion, long pushes can be as important as short pushes for non-pro players. A long, fast and hard push can create trouble to the opponent, even if he can attack it, the loop cannot be too strong, gives you an opportunity to block it easily or counter attack.

Normally, I only push long when I receive short serves with no-spin or light underspin or light sidespin. When I try to push long, sometimes the pushes are not long enough, sometimes they are not fast enough, sometimes they go off the table, and I don't know exactly what I do wrong, I just have little feeling with this shot.

Can you guys give me advices how to do this shot properly? Should I use wrist? Or only forearm? Or what else to notice? Timing? Contact point on the racket? Contact point on the ball? How to push long and fast down the line?

Please share your thoughts. Thank you in advance.

P.S. Just to clarify, I'm not a beginner, I've played table tennis for more than 10 years, long push is just one of my weakest skills.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2012
Read 1 reviews
In my opinion, long pushes can be as important as short pushes for non-pro players. A long, fast and hard push can create trouble to the opponent, even if he can attack it, the loop cannot be too strong, gives you an opportunity to block it easily or counter attack.

Normally, I only push long when I receive short serves with no-spin or light underspin or light sidespin. When I try to push long, sometimes the pushes are not long enough, sometimes they are not fast enough, sometimes they go off the table, and I don't know exactly what I do wrong, I just have little feeling with this shot.

Can you guys give me advices how to do this shot properly? Should I use wrist? Or only forearm? Or what else to notice? Timing? Contact point on the racket? Contact point on the ball? How to push long and fast down the line?