Attacking from Tibhar grass Ultra

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2014
I played with a long pimpled rubber in backhand side for some years and then stopped playing TT. Those days I was more of a defensive player. After about 8 years I started playing again, and now I am using Tibhar Grass Ultra 1.5mm rubber on my backhand but I rarely chop now. My blade is Nittaku Violin and on forehand side I have Tenergy 25fx.The problem is most of the times if I try an attacking shot from my backhand it either goes to the net or goes out of the table.And therefore in a match situation because I am not confident to attack from my backhand I simply push even the long balls.Also my forehand topspin is really strong but if my opponent blocks my topspin to my backhand side it is really difficult for me to attack that ball and therefore I lose the advantage of having a good forehand.But if I could attack from backhand it is really difficult for the opponent.The problem with backhand attack is it's inconsistent and therefore I am not confident.Is it possible to learn to attack from the long pimpled Tibhar Grass Ultra 1.5mm rubber ?I have a major tournament in 3 months time and I train 5 days a week, with 3 hours each day.Within this period will I be able to improve my backhand attack.In training lot of time is allocated to improve on backhand attack as its being my real weak spot and with forehand topspin I am fine.
Should I continue to use this Tibhar Grass Ultra rubber or should I change it?
I think it is better to stick to one rubber than keep on changing because specially with pimpled rubbers it take some time to get the feeling of it.I don't like to use an inverted rubber on backhand as I've always used a pimpled rubber on B/H.

Can anyone suggest me what I should do?Should I be patient and keep training with Tibhar Grass Ultra rubber or should I go for a change?

Last edited:
says 2023 Certified Organ Donor
Sep 2011
Read 27 reviews