A Tibhar Aurus Sound review for you all

says Begonnen bij TTC Damme, vorig jaar bij TTC Pipolic en nu...
May 2011
Before I begin, I must say I have never done any reviewing before, so please forgive my noobiness on the subject.

First some general info:

Name: Tibhar Aurus Sound
Price: € 36.90 (Which is cheaper than the 'older' Genius Optimum+ Sound and Primus at €41,90, and the new Tibhar IQ at €46.90)
Thickness: 1.7, 1.9, 2.1 (I tested 2.1 on FH)
advertised specs:
* speed: 100
* control: 105
* spin: 114
(each category lying about 3-4 points higher than the more expensive optimum+ sound!?)
Hardness: Soft (about 38° in my humble opinion)

7439_0.jpg

My verdict:

I must say my opinion can be quite a little bit biassed as I tested the rubber on a brand new blade and I was in a quite euforic mood tonight.

It felt right, it just felt really right...
-The throwing angle is spectacular. After I hit a first heavy topspin, my adversary put a heavy chop on it, and it seemed like I could keep it on the table in slow-motion. I just gently brushed the ball and it went exactly where I wanted it. Needless to say, it is a very forgiving rubber. I sometimes felt I'd mi**** the ball, where it landed on the table after all!

-When it comes to blocking or driving, the throwing angle seems to have vanished. As I am a notorious too-long-a-ball-blocker, I was pleasantly surprised to see my blocks land ON the table instead of just long. (dunno if the English expression's right here)
A nice sound is produced especially in drive-mode

- As the rubber is seriously spinny, it meant my serves were harder to control for my adversary. I must say I didn't notice any difference here (of course the lad knows how to 'ping a pong'). I DID notice a bit more trouble to push back a chopped ball. The ball tends to go too long as the rubber's surface is grippier than what I'm used to.