Image by: Remy Gros

Full Name: Thiago Monteiro BRAZIL

Date Of Birth: 15/06/81

Height: 1.74 m

Club Represent: Vaillante Angers Tennis de Table FRANCE

Highest World Ranking: Nr. 59

Equipment: Cornilleau Hinotec Blade and Pilot Advance Rubbers

Your career

How long have you been playing table tennis for, when did you start?
I started playing when I was about 5 or 6.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career?
My father, who was my first coach.

BollForte94 from table tennis daily wants to know what do you practice the most. Do you have a cetain training rechime each week or does it alter?
I try to practise every aspect of my game in my training sessions and I adjust acording to what I want to improve or if I have a competition coming soon or not. Depending on the moment I give more attention to one specific part of my game.

Do you serve practice often?
I used to when I was younger but nowadays only when I really feel like. When you are young it can be good to work hard on this part.

Your a very successful international star now, what do you feel was your biggest achievement to date?
I don't think I am that big star but my wins against top 20 players and few top 10 were important as well as my Pan American medals and world ranking nr. 59, my best so far.

Ok, maybe you don't like looking back to this but what was your biggest low in your career?
It's what I am living now, recovering from injury in my wrist.

Are you looking forward to the 2012 Olympics?
Once in a while my thoughts are there but I need to focus on the moment too and I have important competitions before that.

TerIphik - Hi, I would like to know if the material (rubbers and blades) of professional players is the same to the same material as we (nonprofessional) buy in table tennis shops?
Well, what concerns my equipment yes! I have never been so complicated with my equipment and Cornilleau provides top quality equipment for the pro players as well for the amateurs that buy it normally.