Back to Forum
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. Pete is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 1 6
    Pete's Avatar
    Pete is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 6 1

    User Info Menu

    #1

    I have a serve question.

    If I throw the ball up on the toss of my serve but don't make a movement with my playing arm, does this constitute as a serve?

  2. Amayzde is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Advanced TTD Member 103 404
    Amayzde's Avatar
    Amayzde is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Advanced TTD Member 404 103
    #2
    If you throw the ball up it counts. Doesnt matter you dont make any arm movement or swing at the ball the point will go to the opponent.

    But on amature level most players think when you dont swing at the ball and catch it it doesnt count.

  3. Pete is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 1 6
    Pete's Avatar
    Pete is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    TTD Member 6 1

    User Info Menu

    #3
    Quote Originally Posted by Amayzde
    If you throw the ball up it counts. Doesnt matter you dont make any arm movement or swing at the ball the point will go to the opponent.

    But on amature level most players think when you dont swing at the ball and catch it it doesnt count.
    Thanks for clearing that up, I have seen this happen quite often in the league.
    Last edited by Pete; 05-17-2015 at 10:54 AM.

  4. htfu is offline
    says denial, it's not just a river in north africa
     
    Established TTD Member 51 191
    H
    htfu is offline
    says denial, it's not just a river in north africa
     
    Established TTD Member 191 51
    #4
    see section 2.06 and 2.10 of the ittf handbook for the official rules :

    http://www.ittf.com/ittf_handbook/ittf_hb.html

    tldr : the service starts with the ball in the palm of your hand, if you miss or do not hit the ball after you have thrown it up you have not completed the serve and hence you will lose the point. enforcement of the rules will vary ...

  5. Hamasaki_Fanz is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Senior TTD Member 272 621
    H
    Hamasaki_Fanz is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Senior TTD Member 621 272
    #5
    Quote Originally Posted by Amayzde
    If you throw the ball up it counts. Doesnt matter you dont make any arm movement or swing at the ball the point will go to the opponent.

    But on amature level most players think when you dont swing at the ball and catch it it doesnt count.
    this usually happens because there are distraction so he needs to cancel the serve and catch the ball

  6. JHB is offline
    says Aged and infirm of purpose
     
    Advanced TTD Member 214 452
    JHB's Avatar
    JHB is offline
    says Aged and infirm of purpose
     
    Advanced TTD Member 452 214
    #6
    It's an odd rule that one, isn't it ? I wonder why the rule differs from lawn tennis, and would anyone be that bothered if ITTF changed the rule ?

  7. htfu is offline
    says denial, it's not just a river in north africa
     
    Established TTD Member 51 191
    H
    htfu is offline
    says denial, it's not just a river in north africa
     
    Established TTD Member 191 51
    #7
    i reckon it would vary due to tennis being an outside sport where wind could have more of an effect on the ball trajectory during service than table tennis.

  8. Tinykin is offline
    says , "the older I get, the craftier I become"
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,125 1,378
    Tinykin's Avatar
    Tinykin is offline
    says , "the older I get, the craftier I become"
     
    Elite TTD Member 1,378 1,125
    #8
    It's hardly ever a problem in TT especially where the players understand the rules.
    My table tennis club in Bristol, England
    http://bristol-cssc-tabletennis.weebly.com/

  9. Outerveneer is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 15 125
    Outerveneer's Avatar
    Outerveneer is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 125 15

    User Info Menu


    Sep 2014
    Germany
    125
    15
    289
    Read 9 Reviews
    #9
    It's not legal, I sometimes ask the opponent if i can throw up the ball just to check the light before my first serve in the match. Just to avoid misunderstanding.

  10. Der_Echte is offline
    says Grand Consultant to the Office of the Goon Squad
     
    Master TTD Member 11,540 11,335
    Der_Echte's Avatar
    Der_Echte is offline
    says Grand Consultant to the Office of the Goon Squad
     
    Master TTD Member 11,335 11,540

    User Info Menu

    #10
    What the OP describes is clearly an attempt at a serve, so of course he would lose the point catching the ball if there wasn't a let condition happening.

    I would propose an alternate way to test the lighting condition would be to leave the bat on the table far away next to the net and do a couple ball tosses from the serve position.There is NO WAY someone could say that was a serve attempt with a straight face unless they were a sociopath trouble maker on the wrong meds and too many missed meals.
    President, Korea Foreign Table Tennis Club. Hit us up on TTD or Facebook
    http://www.facebook.com/koreaforeignttc

    Janitor at NexyUSA TT Equipment Shop
    http://www.nexyusa.com

    View our Lame Nexy USA corporate FB page
    http://www.facebook.com/nexyusa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Create a new Topic:
Title is required.