Help make aerial a better player

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
Your forehand topspin finishing position is the lowest hanging fruit. You swing too low and shallow and the inconsistency leads you to not trust it when swinging hard except on very easy balls.

If you finish in the salute position consistently (you do the underspin salute decently, but have no topspin/no spin salute), your stroke will be better calibrated and will improve rapidly. You don't need to do the exercise in the video below - just swing and finish in that position. If the ball is going long, close your paddle more or come round the side more but always finish at your forehead like in the video. Once you fix the path, you will be surprised how easily it will change and improve on its own. I have been doing this for six months and now play forehands that make me want to kiss myself. The height of the finish means that your shot will always have a topspin orientation that will keep it safe. The path also means that you would have offered a good swing path to contact the ball and you will whiff less because you will swing forward and not upward if you consistently try to play over the ball. Sometimes, your swing is currently much too vertical. Finishing properly at the eyes/forehand should fix that.

Last edited:
Reactions: sspark80 and aerial
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
I know it seems like a tip but consider it a major technical fix that even you incorporate into some of your better shots. It's a common seperator of amateur and pro technique. To accommodate it with a smooth swing, your stroke might need other changes. Post some video of your early attempts so I can guide you through it. In person, it would take 10 mins but you never know remotely.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
May 2015
Ariel, you don't trust me?

Is your first opponent using pips?