Game style

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2016
I was a top Junior 35 years ago and am 48 now. I am really struggling to get my F/H topspin consistent due to my Tennis stroke (I am a Tennis coach)
I am extremely good at hard bat defending and nearly qualified for Ally Pally in the Irish qualifier (lost semis) and actually quite enjoy defending. My ideal game style would be to attack and defend. I am in a quandary as to whether I practice my attacking strokes or change my game style. If I do this then I would need advice on tactics and rubbers. Any advice would be greatly appreciated as I have a robot and really want to play Tournaments next year but I still can't make my mind up what to do. I realise defending is difficult against the good players.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2016
Pretty good. I played my lad earlier and messed about a bit with attack and defence and found the F/H chop easy with smooth rubber but not so easy with my B/H chop. What rubber would you recommend for this type of game? I didn't realise these guys played with normal rubber, I assumed short pips.

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
The real defenders play often with long pips and sometimes with short.

But I have a friend who was a tennis pro who plays table tennis also and if he can get back to mid distance after serve and receive he is a lot better than most people 1-2 levels higher than him.

So he returns serve any way he can, backs up and will do a combination of lobbing, chopping and counterlooping just using T05fx.

Sent from Deep Space by Abacus

Reactions: BeGo
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2016
That makes a lot of sense as most my two boys were Tennis players before Table Tennis and they are really good when away from the table. Thanks for your advice and I reckon I could be effective with this style with lots of practice.
Thanks again!