Hip sway back and forth during forehand

says what [IMG]
Hey.

I've noticed that I've taken it a habit to sway slightly back and forth while rotating. It's not extreme, but I feel that I'm stressing my lower back more than I could be, and I'm pretty sure I'm losing energy that I could be transferring into the ball.

I understand that I'll probably never rotate around my centerline like the Chinese do, but I'd at least want to get this a bit cleaner. ;)

What exactly could be causing this and what could be remedies for it? I feel it has to do with the positioning of my legs and how I move them. It's like my hips are being pulled by the legs, or that I'm "dropping" my waist down and to the side.

@UpSideDownCarl You probably know a thing or two about this, so shoot.

Thanks.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2012
Read 1 reviews
im not a muscle expert i had a few problems with my back also and it was mostly because of my improper footwork. Feet always move first dont know if it can help you though

Your back and upper torso seem stiff in the video, you should try to tuck/rotate inwards your left elbow (your left not mine as I see you in the video) and waist, what you do in the video is putting tension on your back cause you are not rotating at all, it seems that you only turning your feet without the upper body following and I suppose that is creating back problems if this is the exact motion you do when you play. Just let the body fall/rotate in your right leg

Hope I helped, back issues are really annoying

p.s. let your whole body loose to the point that if someone pushes you a bit u lose ur balance. if ur muscles are stiff then the problem wont be fixed, relaxation and footwork are fundamentals for me in tt

Last edited:
says what [IMG]
It seems to be the issue rotating on the feet instead of rotating the body. I can feel it now when I got up and compared. Took me a second, but I can feel what you mean.