How to defend

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2016
I am a Tennis coach and played for Ireland as a junior in Table Tennis 35 years ago. I recently played a hard bat tournament and discovered just by chance that I was really good at it, only defending though. I really enjoyed defending and have made a comeback in Table Tennis and have tried short and long pimples, neither really seems to work at a good level in matches though. My training is good but in a match I'm never sure where to recover to and the good players stay patient and are able to pick me off. My long term goal is to defend and block and attack my F/H which is still strong. My thinking so far is that I should use inverted rubbers both sides and mix going back and coming forwards, but I would love some advice from experts on the art of defence. Please help as I tried just attacking last week and won my matches but didnt enjoy the style. Defence seems like so much more fun!! Please help!

Robbo

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2016
We will need a video of yourself playing in order for us to make any meaningful comments.

I have friends who play more tennis than ping pong, and they also seem to like to defend, so I understand your favoritism. (They just like to hit the ball late, at least, that what I observe.)

If you want to learn how to defend well, you are going to have to find a training partner that attacks well. There's not much more I can say without seeing, and I don't want to assume.

If I do assume:

You probably back off the table a lot.

If you do that, you won't really be able to block and will have to start lobbing. So, I'll suggest learning how to stand your ground and block. Block to the corners, learn how to block softly, and block hard. You have to learn how to absorb the impact, and learn to redirect it.