Help to improve match mentality

I've been playing table tennis for about 15 years. But I had to stop playing for about four years. About two years ago i started to playing again. The problem I have is I do very well in matches when practicing and doing drills. I hit very solid shots move around well and if a person was watching he would think i'm a very good player as i was.

But the problem occurs when i play tournaments. :confused: :confused: It's like all my talents has been locked away. i loose to players who have been playing for few months. :( i just putting ball over to other side like a little one. i miss my loops, smashes and all the good shots. If anyone been in a situation like this please tell me how you overcame it. I think it's a psychological thing and it really sucks:p

Reactions: Takkyu_wa_inochi
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
May 2015
Read 5 reviews
You shouldn't be too worried.
Many players have these kind of problems.

From my point of view you should try seeking for some mental relaxation directly before you start playing. There are various techniques for this. Listening to your favourite music, holding a meditation e.g. and so on.
Seems as if you put too much pressure on yourself. Instead of wanting to win so badly it would be more helpful to focus on EACH and EVERY single point being played to try to play it as good as you can. The winning comes by itself.
May i ask how many tournaments have you played since you returned to the game? Maybe you also should just play more.

You shouldn't be too worried.
Many players have these kind of problems.

From my point of view you should try seeking for some mental relaxation directly before you start playing. There are various techniques for this. Listening to your favourite music, holding a meditation e.g. and so on.