• Join our newsletter: 
  • Welcome Guest


    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 40 of 73
    1. Top | #21
      AndySmith is offline
      says equipment does not matter.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: UK

      Equipment:
      Blade AfroBro Custom
      Forehand Rubber Andro Hexer Powergrip
      Backhand Rubber Andro Hexer Grip

      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      776
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 977 Times in 438 Posts
      Here is the rule:

      2.02.01 The net assembly shall consist of the net, its suspension and the supporting posts, including the clamps attaching them to the table.

      This is an unusual case - this one crops up mostly when people hit into the net support and the ball bounces off and lands on the opponent's side of the table. Which is still a legal ball of course.

    2. Top | #22
      Fabian is offline
      says CHO!
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: Germany
      Fabian's Avatar

      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Posts
      646
      Reviews
      Read 2 Reviews
      Liked 506 Times in 261 Posts
      and I think you could consider Gauzy's behaviour unfair in this case IF he knew that it hit the net post and still wanted the point... But I can't tell what he saw but I can understand that Shibaev was angry if he thought that way.

    3. Top | #23
      Sali is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: Poland

      Equipment:
      Blade Andro fibercomp 2
      Forehand Rubber Tibhar Evolution ELP
      Backhand Rubber Hellfire Spezial

      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Posts
      1,171
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 483 Times in 334 Posts
      some bad behaviour continues. Dima took some time in second set for caughing while the ball cracked and Shibaev said in russian to Dima that he did not tell him about the ball, then Dima said in to the umpire "he is talking to me I do not know why"/

    4. The Following User Likes Sali's Post:

      anchorschmidt (02-05-2017)

    5. Top | #24
      izra is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Croatia
      izra's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Nittaku Latika
      Forehand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 02
      Backhand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 03

      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      317
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 430 Times in 181 Posts
      gauzy saw the ball cross the net and hit something solid, so naturally he thought it hit the table. but again, that is beside the point. shibaev gave him a lousy handshake because the two have a history, so being frustrated with shibaev in general, his serves during the match and also what he thought was an unfair call - gauzy lost his cool.
      Last edited by izra; 02-05-2017 at 03:57 PM.

    6. The Following User Likes izra's Post:

      NextLevel (02-05-2017)

    7. Top | #25
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,053
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 852 Times in 412 Posts
      Suppose A plays to B a ball that hits the net, falls and bounces from that part of the clamp that's over the table onto the floor. Whose point?
      My table tennis club in Bristol, England
      http://bristol-cssc-tabletennis.weebly.com/

    8. Top | #26
      Mytoman is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Norway


      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      50
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      Suppose A plays to B a ball that hits the net, falls and bounces from that part of the clamp that's over the table onto the floor. Whose point?
      Easy: A has not done a good return (did not hit the table). B gets the point. (Even if it was a service it would not be a let, because A served net and out).

    9. Top | #27
      izra is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Croatia
      izra's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Nittaku Latika
      Forehand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 02
      Backhand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 03

      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      317
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 430 Times in 181 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      Suppose A plays to B a ball that hits the net, falls and bounces from that part of the clamp that's over the table onto the floor. Whose point?
      B's point. the net post is not the table surface.

    10. Top | #28
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,053
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 852 Times in 412 Posts
      Correct.
      Not a lot of players know that

    11. Top | #29
      yoass is offline
      says modestly attempting kĊhaiship
      of Jeul-Tak
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Netherlands
      yoass's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Vanity II (D.A.b Studio Custom)
      Forehand Rubber Butterfly Rozena, T05
      Backhand Rubber Butterfly Rozena, Gewo Nanoflex FT48

      Join Date
      Jan 2017
      Location
      Tiel, The Netherlands
      Posts
      1,638
      Reviews
      Read 6 Reviews
      Liked 1,658 Times in 868 Posts
      Less than classy on both counts.

    12. The Following User Likes yoass's Post:

      Suga D (02-05-2017)

    13. Top | #30
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,053
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 852 Times in 412 Posts
      Let's stretch this one some more.
      Suppose the ball on hitting the net post had bounced upwards. Shibaev hit the ball onto Gauzy's side of the table. Gauzy fails to retrieve. Whose point?

    14. The Following User Likes Tinykin's Post:

      TTFrenzy (02-05-2017)

    15. Top | #31
      Baal is offline
      says Ba'al has spoken
       
      Master TTD Member


      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Houston, Texas
      Posts
      2,421
      Reviews
      Read 8 Reviews
      Liked 4,145 Times in 1,664 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by AndySmith View Post
      It's one of the most misinterpreted rules in TT. The posts and assembly are considered part of the net, so it was NOT Gauzy's point. I was surprised at his reaction - I expect pros to know this - so all I can think is that he couldn't see the ball impact and went from the noise alone. The replay shows that the ump was right.
      Yep. I was wrong about this. Just went to check Handbook for Match Officials among other things.

      No more sarcastic remarks from me about people not knowing the rules.
      Last edited by Baal; 02-05-2017 at 04:30 PM.

    16. The Following 2 Users Like Baal's Post:

      Boogar (02-06-2017),izra (02-05-2017)

    17. Top | #32
      Baal is offline
      says Ba'al has spoken
       
      Master TTD Member


      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Houston, Texas
      Posts
      2,421
      Reviews
      Read 8 Reviews
      Liked 4,145 Times in 1,664 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by AndySmith View Post
      Here is the rule:

      2.02.01 The net assembly shall consist of the net, its suspension and the supporting posts, including the clamps attaching them to the table.

      This is an unusual case - this one crops up mostly when people hit into the net support and the ball bounces off and lands on the opponent's side of the table. Which is still a legal ball of course.
      yes that is it.

    18. Top | #33
      izra is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Croatia
      izra's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Nittaku Latika
      Forehand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 02
      Backhand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 03

      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      317
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 430 Times in 181 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      Let's stretch this one some more.
      Suppose the ball on hitting the net post had bounced upwards. Shibaev hit the ball onto Gauzy's side of the table. Gauzy fails to retrieve. Whose point?
      depends if shibaev made contact over the table. if he did, gauzy wins the point.

    19. Top | #34
      Mytoman is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Norway


      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      50
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      Let's stretch this one some more.
      Suppose the ball on hitting the net post had bounced upwards. Shibaev hit the ball onto Gauzy's side of the table. Gauzy fails to retrieve. Whose point?
      Haha! Fun! Then AS is hitting a "volley" (a ball that has not hit the table yet...). That is tennis, not table tennis. AS is obstructing the ball, and it is SG's point.

    20. The Following User Likes Mytoman's Post:

      Baal (02-05-2017)

    21. Top | #35
      Baal is offline
      says Ba'al has spoken
       
      Master TTD Member


      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Houston, Texas
      Posts
      2,421
      Reviews
      Read 8 Reviews
      Liked 4,145 Times in 1,664 Posts
      In any case, Shibaev sometimes loses his mind.

    22. The Following 2 Users Like Baal's Post:

      akoozab (02-06-2017),AndySmith (02-05-2017)

    23. Top | #36
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,053
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 852 Times in 412 Posts
      The ball has gone in the air. AS hit the ball whilst it was not over the table. How can you say it's an obstruction?

    24. Top | #37
      Garrison is offline
      says Master yourself, master the
      strawberry
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: Germany
      Garrison's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Donic Ovtcharov True Carbon
      Forehand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 01
      Backhand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 02

      Join Date
      Dec 2015
      Posts
      1,004
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 1,154 Times in 519 Posts
      Haha Shibaev got on Dimas nerves he really wants to beat him^^

    25. Top | #38
      izra is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Croatia
      izra's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Nittaku Latika
      Forehand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 02
      Backhand Rubber Donic Bluefire JP 03

      Join Date
      Jan 2014
      Posts
      317
      Reviews
      Read 3 Reviews
      Liked 430 Times in 181 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      The ball has gone in the air. AS hit the ball whilst it was not over the table. How can you say it's an obstruction?
      if he hit it while it wasn't over the table then it is clearly shibaev's point before he even hit it. it's the same as if the ball that gauzy hit flew over the table without ever touching anything.

    26. Top | #39
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Tenergy 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,053
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 852 Times in 412 Posts
      Answer depends on the scenario. If the ball was, in the unpire's view, heading for the table, then it's obstruction. If it was heading away from the table, then no obstruction as you said.

    27. Top | #40
      Mytoman is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Norway


      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      50
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      The ball has gone in the air. AS hit the ball whilst it was not over the table. How can you say it's an obstruction?
      If it was not over the table/travelling to the table - it is of course different. Agree.

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    Log in or Register
    BACK TO TOP