• Join our newsletter: 
  • Welcome Guest


    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 41 to 60 of 73
    1. Top | #41
      TTFrenzy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Greece
      TTFrenzy's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade OSP VIRTUOSO (OFF - )
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1

      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      1,994
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 1,448 Times in 796 Posts
      Shibaev was being a prick like he always is and provoked gauzy. He laughs ironically after the handshake and says "sorry" when the crowd boo's to irritate gauzy like he doesnot even care. After that you can hear him say

      "after match if you want, we can speak" in a provocative manner walking towards gauzy. And then simon lost it, I feel for Gauzy he shouldnt over react (he said you are "f****ing shit", with a french accent that was hilarious) but Shibaev was clearly intending to irritate Simon, just like he did against Dima
      I suck real bad so I train to suck less

    2. The Following User Likes TTFrenzy's Post:

      Boogar (02-07-2017)

    3. Top | #42
      TTFrenzy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Greece
      TTFrenzy's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade OSP VIRTUOSO (OFF - )
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1

      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      1,994
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 1,448 Times in 796 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      Let's stretch this one some more.
      Suppose the ball on hitting the net post had bounced upwards. Shibaev hit the ball onto Gauzy's side of the table. Gauzy fails to retrieve. Whose point?
      Shibaev's

      in both occasions :P net post is not considered part of the table! I myself had to read the rules over and over, there is clearly a misconception even amongst pro's whether it should count or not.

    4. Top | #43
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05H red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Dignics 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,076
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 870 Times in 423 Posts
      I was trying to make posters think how far we could go with this. I have seen many versions over the years.
      As said above, if the ball was over or heading towards the table when Shibaev hit it, then it would be an obstruction by Shibaev. Point to Gauzy
      My table tennis club in Bristol, England
      http://bristol-cssc-tabletennis.weebly.com/

    5. The Following User Likes Tinykin's Post:

      TTFrenzy (02-05-2017)

    6. Top | #44
      Baal is offline
      says Ba'al has spoken
       
      Master TTD Member


      Join Date
      Nov 2010
      Location
      Houston, Texas
      Posts
      2,428
      Reviews
      Read 8 Reviews
      Liked 4,150 Times in 1,668 Posts
      Ah the controversial "paddle rule" of my youth.

      By the way whatever Retsina TTFrenzy was drinking this afternoon, I want some.
      Last edited by Baal; 02-05-2017 at 05:29 PM.

    7. The Following User Likes Baal's Post:

      TTFrenzy (02-05-2017)

    8. Top | #45
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05H red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Dignics 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,076
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 870 Times in 423 Posts
      OK, I can' resist. One more scenario.
      Suppose this happened at the start of rally. That is, Gauzy serves. The ball hits the net, then the post, and bounces upwards towards the table on Shibaev's side. Shibaev hits the ball onto the table on Gauzy's side. Gauzy fails to retrieve. Whose point?

    9. The Following User Likes Tinykin's Post:

      TTFrenzy (02-05-2017)

    10. Top | #46
      TTFrenzy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Greece
      TTFrenzy's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade OSP VIRTUOSO (OFF - )
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1

      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      1,994
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 1,448 Times in 796 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      OK, I can' resist. One more scenario.
      Suppose this happened at the start of rally. That is, Gauzy serves. The ball hits the net, then the post, and bounces upwards towards the table on Shibaev's side. Shibaev hits the ball onto the table on Gauzy's side. Gauzy fails to retrieve. Whose point?
      hahah,well

      since you are not indicating a second bounce then its gauzy's point. If it idoes bounce on shibaev's side then its a let because it hit the top of the net. The net post is also part of the net. Give me more !

    11. The Following User Likes TTFrenzy's Post:

      akoozab (02-06-2017)

    12. Top | #47
      Tinykin is offline
      says , "the older I get, the
      craftier I become"
       
      Elite TTD Member Country: UK
      Tinykin's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Darker Speed90 + T05; fastest setup known to man
      Forehand Rubber FH: Butterfly Tenergy 05H red
      Backhand Rubber BH: Butterfly Dignics 05 blk

      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,076
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 870 Times in 423 Posts
      This is one of the most significant but obscure rules in table tennis. I say obscure as the vast majority of TT players are unaware of it.
      The answer is that it's a let.
      That is, a receiver on trying to return a serve that has hit the net, cannot obstruct (or volley, as in tennis) the ball. It's always a let.

    13. Top | #48
      TTFrenzy is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Master TTD Member Country: Greece
      TTFrenzy's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade OSP VIRTUOSO (OFF - )
      Forehand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1
      Backhand Rubber Tenergy 05 FX 2.1

      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      1,994
      Reviews
      Read 1 Reviews
      Liked 1,448 Times in 796 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      This is one of the most significant but obscure rules in table tennis. I say obscure as the vast majority of TT players are unaware of it.
      The answer is that it's a let.
      That is, a receiver on trying to return a serve that has hit the net, cannot obstruct (or volley, as in tennis) the ball. It's always a let.

      well
      u certainly got me there

      2.9 A LET2.9.1 The rally shall be a let:2.9.1.1 if in service the ball touches the net assembly, provided the service isotherwise correct or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his or herpartner;

      But wait a minute,how can the receiver obstruct the ball ? what does the 2nd sentence actually mean? That if the receiver obstructs the ball then its not a let but a point?

    14. Top | #49
      Mytoman is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Norway


      Join Date
      Feb 2017
      Posts
      50
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 50 Times in 30 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Tinykin View Post
      OK, I can' resist. One more scenario.
      Suppose this happened at the start of rally. That is, Gauzy serves. The ball hits the net, then the post, and bounces upwards towards the table on Shibaev's side. Shibaev hits the ball onto the table on Gauzy's side. Gauzy fails to retrieve. Whose point?
      Let. Obstruction in service is let. Obstruction in free play is lost point.

    15. The Following User Likes Mytoman's Post:

      Tinykin (02-05-2017)

    16. Top | #50
      raytt is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Italy

      Equipment:
      Blade DHS Hurricane bo carbon
      Forehand Rubber DHS Hurricane 8 hard
      Backhand Rubber DHS Hurricane 3.50 soft

      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      17
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 17 Times in 7 Posts
      In my opinion simon hear that the ball hit something and he supposed it was the table... if he was in good intentions! If he saw that the ball did not hit the table... but tried to get the point... then, that could start a reaction from shibaev!

    17. Top | #51
      kirua18 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: France


      Join Date
      Jan 2013
      Posts
      54
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 69 Times in 30 Posts
      In interview in french, he said he thank ball touched edge of the table but was not sure. He got impression of an edge. But he thinks cold, ball is outside the table.

      And he said, he was not completely convince himself of it, that why he did not really contest decision.
      Last edited by kirua18; 02-05-2017 at 07:35 PM.

    18. Top | #52
      suds79 is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: United States
      suds79's Avatar
      Equipment:
      Blade Gambler | Fire Dragon Touch - Penhold
      Forehand Rubber DHS | H3 Neo
      Backhand Rubber DHS | H3

      Join Date
      Aug 2016
      Posts
      759
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 1,069 Times in 540 Posts
      All I know is this was awesome. The video made me chuckle.

      I don't know where it started but you have two guys, who don't like each other and it got heated. Happens all the time in professional sports. Little bad blood between competitors makes for more interesting story lines.

      No big deal.

    19. The Following 7 Users Like suds79's Post:

      Baal (02-05-2017),Boogar (02-07-2017),Cornel (02-05-2017),genrel001 (02-06-2017),Lucas Nascimento (02-06-2017),NextLevel (02-05-2017),TTFrenzy (02-05-2017)

    20. Top | #53
      LordPippington is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: United States


      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      238
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 184 Times in 98 Posts
      I think table tennis should go the way of chess / boxing! Table tennis match and a boxing match between opponents following it!

    21. The Following 2 Users Like LordPippington's Post:

      Boogar (02-07-2017),Takkyu_wa_inochi (02-05-2017)

    22. Top | #54
      Konrad Bak is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: Poland


      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      431
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 94 Times in 78 Posts
      Dima propably knows what Shibaev was talking to him because he plays in the biggest club in Russia

    23. Top | #55
      jedimasterplk is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: UK


      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      369
      Reviews
      Read 6 Reviews
      Liked 160 Times in 94 Posts
      I see everyone calling Shibaev a prick. Maybe he is. BUT SO IS GAUZY. He is in fact a well known prick - I wont elaborate on how I know the details.
      I suggest that people be more objective and fair in their observations/name calling - you can tell Gauzy was looking for trouble - he was waiting for shibaev as he was walking back after taking his towel. So no need to go overboard in taking sides - plus, Shibaev beat both Dima, AND Gauzy - fair and square.

    24. The Following 2 Users Like jedimasterplk's Post:

      akoozab (02-06-2017),Takkyu_wa_inochi (02-05-2017)

    25. Top | #56
      anchorschmidt is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Senior TTD Member Country: Germany

      Equipment:
      Blade OSP Virtuoso
      Forehand Rubber BH: Hexer Duro
      Backhand Rubber FH: Vega Pro

      Join Date
      Apr 2014
      Posts
      633
      Reviews
      Read 7 Reviews
      Liked 675 Times in 292 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by jedimasterplk View Post
      I see everyone calling Shibaev a prick. Maybe he is. BUT SO IS GAUZY. He is in fact a well known prick - I wont elaborate on how I know the details.
      Statement holds no weight without details

    26. The Following User Likes anchorschmidt's Post:

      Takkyu_wa_inochi (02-05-2017)

    27. Top | #57
      jedimasterplk is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: UK


      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      369
      Reviews
      Read 6 Reviews
      Liked 160 Times in 94 Posts
      well, no details will be provided :-D..... there is no need.
      Last edited by jedimasterplk; 02-05-2017 at 08:46 PM.

    28. The Following User Likes jedimasterplk's Post:

      anchorschmidt (02-05-2017)

    29. Top | #58
      scragnoth is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Turkey

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Korbel
      Forehand Rubber Tibhar Aurus
      Backhand Rubber Tibhar Aurus

      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      16
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 18 Times in 6 Posts
      Watch the point at 3.10:



      clamp is considered net and the game goes on.

    30. The Following 3 Users Like scragnoth's Post:

      NextLevel (02-05-2017),vfiodor (02-06-2017),yoass (02-05-2017)

    31. Top | #59
      jedimasterplk is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      Advanced TTD Member Country: UK


      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      369
      Reviews
      Read 6 Reviews
      Liked 160 Times in 94 Posts
      Yes, IF it then hits/lands on the table, is it clearly did in your example. That was not the case in the match today. The ball hit the post, and then flew off.

    32. Top | #60
      scragnoth is offline
      This user has no status.
       
      TTD Member Country: Turkey

      Equipment:
      Blade Butterfly Korbel
      Forehand Rubber Tibhar Aurus
      Backhand Rubber Tibhar Aurus

      Join Date
      Oct 2016
      Posts
      16
      Reviews
      Read 0 Reviews
      Liked 18 Times in 6 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by jedimasterplk View Post
      Yes, IF it then hits/lands on the table, is it clearly did in your example. That was not the case in the match today. The ball hit the post, and then flew off.
      I know. I just put this to show the clamp is considered net, but not table. If they consider the clamp as a table, umpire need to give the point directly to mizutani in my example, because it hit the clamp from the wrong side. But the game went on.

      The whole net set, even the screws under clamps considered as net.

    33. The Following 3 Users Like scragnoth's Post:

      jedimasterplk (02-05-2017),NextLevel (02-05-2017),vfiodor (02-06-2017)

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    Log in or Register
    BACK TO TOP